more from
Jansen Records


by Hanne Kolstø

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $9.99 USD  or more




In 2019, Hanne Kolstø celebrates 10 years as an artist. As one of the most productive and lauded musicians on the Norwegian indie scene, Kolstø now readies her ninth solo album Jue. With a more experimental sound than earlier and a party program proclaiming that music should be free, Kolstø challenges traditional song structures with these ten new songs.

Kolstø has always thrived in several different, musically diverse camps. With Jue she combines modern, minimalistic electronica with elements of new wave and new romantics, along with a more contemporary indie-vibe – all with great aplomb of course. One moment one might hear hints of Ultravox and Tears for Fears, and in the next modern artists like DJ Koze or Nicolas Jaar – always with Kolstø’s ear for melody and compositional finesse.

Speaking about the record, Kolstø says: “I made this album to remind myself that my music has to be free, it should be allowed to be, no matter what people might say or think. Because music is art and art should be free. When I wrote the album I said to myself that everything was allowed, exemplified with the song that actually stars with a drum solo, before transitioning into a lighter acoustic section, before it gets all heavy (“E det so farlig”). I want to remove myself from the thought process that one has to rearrange the songs to make them “fit in” somewhere. The album is supposed to be a goodie bag of artistic freedom.”


released November 15, 2019

All songs written and composed by Hanne Kolstø.

Produced by Hanne Kolstø and Øyvind Røsrud Gundersen
Recorded and mixed by Øyvind Røsrud Gundersen
Mastered by George Tanderø

Hanne Kolstø: Vocals, piano, beats, bass, acoustic guitar, synthesizer
Øyvind Røsrud Gundersen: Vocals, electric guitar, violin, saxophone, beats, bass, synthesizer, percussion
Tobias Ørnes Andersen: Drums on ”Veggen”, ”I lause lufta”, ”Urfjellet” and ”E det so farlig”
Elisabeth Mørland Nesset: Drums on ”Jue” and ”Heime”. Vocals on ”I lause lufta”, ”Jue” and ”E det so farlig”. Percussion on ”Meir”. Rototoms on ”I kvarandre”.
Haldor Røyne: Acoustic guitar on ”Din by” and electric sitar on ”E det so farlig”.
Lucy Swann: Vocals on ”Veggen”
Øystein Braut: Pedal steel on ”I lause lufta”.
Morten Martens: Beats on ”Din by” and ”Heime”
Sigurd Thomassen: Synthesizer on ”Meir” and ”I kvarandre”. Programming on ”Heime”.
Øyvind Mathisen: Synthesizer and electronics on ”Meir” and ”I kvarandre”.
Andreas Stensland Løwe: Piano on ”Heime”.
Jørn Tore Egseth: Co-producer on ”Heime”.

”Din by” contains a sample from the work ”The Lyrical Joke in the Garden” from the album Early Works by Øystein Sevåg.

The lyrics for ”I lause lufta” are inspired by the poem ”I tretten dagar” by Arne Ruset.

Photo: Øyvind Røsrud Gundersen
Cover art: Esra Caroline Røise
Cover design: StorakerSchwartz


all rights reserved



Hanne Kolstø Oslo, Norway

Hanne Kolstø has been a mainstay on the Norwegian indie scene for a decade. With an unparallelled production of 8 solo albums and several side projects, she has been continually critically lauded with several nominations for the Norwegian Spellemann awards (equivalent to Grammys). ... more

contact / help

Contact Hanne Kolstø

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Hanne Kolstø, you may also like: